Pilgriming for Water

During my second pilgrimage through Spain, June / July 2012, Spain’s water use rights were privatized, through political interference on the part of the troika and the EU, on the debt issue and the euro crisis. In the tendering process, mainly companies such as Nestlé, Coca-Cola and Veolia made the race to the rights of use, which basically also included the sewage and service water issue. The first step was that tap water was massively chlorinated.

To notice this was not difficult on hot days, along the Way of St. James. But the challenge is more far-reaching, since animals – such as birds, dogs and cats – no longer drink the water. And exactly these scenes – regardless of the question of environmental compatibility – made me move in 2012 to do something. And as a result to go the pilgrimage routes – WALK4WATER² – which I have gone across Europe since 2013 so far.

The picture is a scene in Léon, at the fountain, from the end of June 2012 – pigeons cool their heads at 45 degrees Celsius, but the water, which smelled “chlorinated” 10 meters against the wind, can not be drunk.

So I went on foot from the North Cape on June 28, 2013, as a sign of free access to clean water as a human right. I collected in Denmark and Germany, in cooperation with right2water, signatures for the petition against water privatization etc.

Representative of all paths here Selfie excerpts from 2013

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pilgern für Wasser

Während meines zweiten Pilgerweges durch Spanien, Juni/Juli 2012, waren die Wassernutzungsrechte Spaniens, aufgrund der politischen Einflußnahme seitens „Troika“ und EU, aufgrund Schuldenfrage und EURO-Krise, privatisiert. Bei dem dadurch notwendigen Ausschreibungsverfahren machten hauptsächlich Unternehmen wie Nestlé, Coca-Cola und Veolia das Rennen, um die Nutzungsrechte, die grundsätzlich auch die Abwasser- und Brauchwasserfrage beinhaltete. Erster Schritt war, dass Leitungswasser massiv chloriert wurde.

Dies wahrzunehmen fiel an heißen Tagen, entlang des Jakobsweges nicht schwer. Doch die Herausforderung ist weitreichender, da Tiere – wie Vögel, Hunde und Katzen das Wasser so nicht mehr trinken. Und genau diese Szenen – unabhängig der Frage der Umweltverträglichkeit – haben mich 2012 bewogen etwas zu unternehmen. Und im Ergebnis die Pilgerwege – WALK4WATER² – zu gehen, die ich bis jetzt quer durch Europa ab 2013 gegangen bin.

Das Bild ist eine Szene in Léon, am Brunnen, von Ende Juni 2012 – Tauben kühlen sich bei 45 Grad den Kopf, können das Wasser, das 10 Meter gegen den Wind nach „gechlort“ roch, jedoch nicht trinken.

So ging ich am 28. Juni 2013 vom Nordkap, als Zeichen für den freien Zugang auf sauberes Wasser als Menschenrecht, zu Fuß los. Ich sammelte in Dänemark und Deutschland, in Zusammenarbeit mit right2water, Unterschriften für die Petition gegen die Wasserprivatisierung etc.

Repräsentativ für alle Wege hier Selfie-Ausschnitte von 2013

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.